This is the Day After the Election

I don’t feel like I thought I would

Vanessa Robinson
7 min readNov 5, 2020
Photo by Markus Winkler on Unsplash

I got up this morning feeling odd. That’s probably normal after an election like this; millions of votes still have to be counted and one candidate doesn’t want them to be. This has the feeling of a B movie, but the plot is terrible.

First, we have the recent takeover of the post office (June 2020!) and many of the key players have been removed. What a coincidence. Machines are thrown out, and overtime is cut. Of course, it stands to follow that their delivery performance would suffer. The mail becomes the topic in an election year. Perhaps they’re preparing for something big?

Some states installed mail-in voting. After all, we are in a pandemic. Or are we? I’ve seen so many videos of people claiming it’s a hoax (wonder where that came from) that I might’ve been inspired to believe them. Only my neighbor's dad died. He was 61. My friend Gloria lost her brother and cousin. They were in their 40’s.

So people are dying. And according to the cases we have on a daily basis, many more are to follow in the next couple of weeks. There’s stress. I’ve got to make sure I’ve not one of them. Is that selfish? I’d like to see my future grandchildren. Am I asking too much?

--

--

Vanessa Robinson

Writer and Observer: Injustice, History, Family, Love, and Politics. Electrical Engineer. Completing First Historical Fiction Novel.